• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 9,490 other followers

Friends of Friends @ the Jupiter

This is the first of a regular segment where we highlight our partners, employees, friends and guests at the Jupiter! If you would like to suggest someone to be highlighted, please email Jupiter Lily at Lily@JupiterHotel.com and she’ll get you set up!

Name: Al Munguia

Occupation/Position:  I am the general manager of the Jupiter Hotel and Commissioner on the Oregon Tourism Board.

I am passionate about… representing Portland and the state of Oregon as a travel destination. I am constantly in awe of Oregon’s beauty, the diverse regions and people. I want everyone to know about it!

People are always surprised when they find out… that I was a former solid gold dancer. (Just kidding!) My sis and I were Northern California High School disco dancing champions (long before most of you were born). We even danced a show at Knotts Berry Farm.

When traveling, I like to… really explore a city and the surrounding area on foot. I can walk for hours and there’s something about discovering neighborhoods, local hangouts, meeting people. I really love to walk for hours on end.

My favorite thing about Portland is… how friendly people are! When I first moved here, I thought it was sort of creepy that everyone seemed so friendly and nice… very “Stepford Wives”… however, now I think it’s what sets Oregon apart from the rest of the country. Oregonians and Portlanders are genuinely nice people.

I Keep Portland Weird by… making sure the Jupiter Hotel is a welcoming environment for all of our eclectic guests.

Leave a Reply

